What type of membership would you like to apply for?
Account access problem
You do not have permission to access this page with your current sign in details. If you require any further help, please get in touch at questions@spotlight.com.

The Spotlight Prize is an annual event where graduate nominees have a chance for their performance to be showcased in front of industry professionals, with a £2000 prize awarded to the overall winner. Previous nominees have included Bessie Carter (Bridgerton), Edward Bluemel (A Discovery of Witches), Rosalind Eleazar (The Personal History of David Copperfield) and Yasmin Mwanza (Spider-Man: Far From Home).

Over 70 drama schools and universities were invited to nominate a student from their graduating class to submit a self-tape audition for this year’s Spotlight Prize. The 20 finalists were selected by a panel of industry experts based on the quality of their audition.

Due to the Coronavirus pandemic, the Spotlight Prize will take on a slightly different format once more this year. We’ll be awarding the prize for Best Screen Actor but due to ongoing social distancing measures, we’ve sadly had to cancel the Best Stage Actor prize.

We’re delighted that Paulette Randall MBE will again be directing the finalists as they film their monologues in July. The performances will be judged by an esteemed panel of casting directors with the winner announced on Friday 30 July and awarded their £2000 prize.

The 2021 Spotlight Prize finalists are:

  • Adam Woolley (Royal Academy of Dramatic Art (RADA)
  • Adam Isla O’Brien (Royal Central School of Speech and Drama (RCSSD)
  • Alistair Nwachukwu (LAMDA)
  • Amber Lin (Drama Centre London)
  • Charlotte Deverell (University of Central Lancashire)
  • Curtis Kemlo (Royal Welsh College of Music & Drama)
  • Dan Wolff (Guildhall School of Music & Drama)
  • Darragh Hand (London College of Music)
  • Elan Butler (East 15)
  • Honi Cooke (The Lir)
  • Joséphine Callies (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland (RCS)
  • Khrystalle Moriah (Performance Preparation Academy (PPA)
  • Kudzai Mangombe (Liverpool Institute for Performing Arts)
  • Lionelle Nsarhaza (Bristol Old Vic Theatre School)
  • Loré Adewusi (TU Dublin Conservatoire)
  • Lucy Carter (Manchester School of Theatre (MMU)
  • Mollie Monkton (ALRA South)
  • Raj Khera (Drama Studio London (DSL)
  • Sam Peace (Italia Conti Academy)
  • Sha Dessi (Mountview Academy of Theatre Arts)

Good luck to you all!

Find out more about previous Spotlight Prize winners and finalists or read about how to deliver a monologue successfully.

Image by Joanna Nicole Photography.