What type of membership would you like to apply for?
Account access problem
You do not have permission to access this page with your current sign in details. If you require any further help, please get in touch at questions@spotlight.com.
The Industry

Image credit: Sarah Makharine / Still From Aftersun

‘Aftersun’, ‘Mayflies’ and Lauren Lyle win multiple awards at the BAFTA Scotland Awards 2023

On Sunday 19 November 2023, the winners of the BAFTA Scotland Awards 2023 were announced during a ceremony in Glasgow. Hosted by presenter Edith Bowman, the awards celebrated the very best in film and TV talent from the past year, with the ceremony welcoming a whole host of faces on the red carpet including cast and nominees from a variety of categories.

Aftersun picked up three awards for Director Fiction and Writer Film/Television (received by Charlotte Wells), and also Actor Film, which Spotlight member Paul Mescal won for his role in the film. Spotlight member Lucy Halliday won Best Actress for her performance in Blue Jean, while Spotlight members Lewis Gribben and Lauren Lyle won awards for Actor TV and Actress TV respectively. Lauren also picked up the Audience Award, voted for on the night.

Other highlights included Spotlight member Shirley Henderson (who played ‘Moaning Myrtle’ in the Harry Potter films) winning the Outstanding Contribution to Film and Television award, and Stuart Wilson being recognised with the award for Outstanding Contribution to Craft (in Memory of Robert McCann).


See the full list of winners for the Scottish BAFTA’s below:

Actor Film

  • Paul Mescal – Aftersun (Winner)
  • James Cosmo – My Sailor, My Love
  • Chinaza Uche – A Good Person

Actress Film

  • Lucy Halliday – Blue Jean (Winner)
  • Frankie Corio – Aftersun
  • Sally Hawkins – The Lost King

Actor TV

  • Lewis Gribben – Somewhere Boy (Winner)
  • Brian Cox – Succession
  • Tony Curran – Mayflies
  • Conor McCarron – Dog Days

Actress TV

  • Lauren Lyle – Karen Pirie (Winner)
  • Izuka Hoyle – Big Boys
  • Ashley Jensen – Mayflies
  • Vinette Robinson – Six Four

Director Factual

  • Jono McLeod – My Old School (Winner)
  • Alice McMahon-Major – Three Mothers, Two Babies and a Scandal
  • Matt Pinder – The Hunt for the World’s End Killers

Director Fiction

  • Charlotte Wells – Aftersun (Winner)
  • Jon S. Baird – Tetris
  • Gareth Bryn – Karen Pirie


  • Frankie Boyle’s Farewell to the Monarchy – Production Team (Two Rivers Media/Channel 4) (Winner)
  • Richard Osman’s House of Games – Tamara Gilder, Breid McLoone, John Smith, Gemma Whitford (Remarkable TV/BBC Two)
  • Susan Calman’s Grand Day Out – Production Team (IWC Media/Channel 5)

Factual Series

  • Three Mothers, Two Babies and a Scandal – Alice McMahon-Major, Nicole Kleeman, Vari Innes, Naomi Buchanan (Firecrest Films/Amazon Prime Video) (Winner)
  • The Women Who Changed Modern Scotland – Production Team (Two Rivers Media/BBC Scotland)
  • Fred West: The Glasgow Girls – Production Team (IWC Media/Sky Crime)

Feature Film

  • Winners – Hassan Nazer, Nadira Murray, Paul Welsh, Arash Seifie Jamadi (Winner)
  • Aftersun – Charlotte Wells, Mark Ceryak, Amy Jackson, Barry Jenkins, Adele Romanski
  • My Old School – Jono McLeod, John Archer, Olivia Lichtenstein, Berny McGurk


  • Designing the Hebrides – Production Team (DSP/BBC Scotland) (Winner)
  • Kirstie and Phil’s Love it or List it – Kirstie Allsopp, Phil Spencer, Laura Harding, Jonny Wharton (Raise the Roof Productions/Channel 4)
  • The Yorkshire Auction House – Craig Hunter, John Redshaw, Diccon Green, Sarah Forster (STV Studios/Really)

Short Film & Animation

  • A Long Winter – Eilidh Munro, Finlay Pretsell (Winner)
  • Clean – Miranda Stern, Reece Cargan
  • Shackle – Ainslie Henderson, Will Anderson

Single Documentary

  • The Mysterious Mr Lagerfeld – Michael Waldman, Lorraine McKechnie, David G. Hill, Calum Leslie (Finestripe Productions/BBC Two) (Winner)
  • The Snowman: The Film That Changed Christmas – Production Team (Two Rivers Media/Channel 4)
  • War and Justice: The Case of Marine – A Production Team (Two Rivers Media, Uppercut Films/Channel 4)

Specialist Factual

  • Imagine: Douglas Stuart… Love, Hope and Grit – Linda Sands, Tanya Hudson, Alan Yentob, Ed Horne – BBC Studios/BBC One (Winner)
  • Becoming Fridah Kahlo – James Rogan, Mark Hedgecoe, Nancy Bornat, Louise Lockwood – Rogan Productions/BBC One
  • What Killed the Whale? – Production Team – STV Studios/Channel 4

Television Scripted

  • Mayflies – Claire Mundell, Brian Kaczynski, Andrea Gibb, Peter Mackie Burns (Synchronicity Films/BBC One) (Winner)
  • Guilt – Production Team (Expectation North, Happy Tramp North/BBC Scotland)
  • Karen Pire – Production Team (World Productions/ITV)

Writer Film/Television (in partnership with Screen Scotland)

  • Charlotte Wells – Aftersun (Winner)
  • Neil Forsyth – The Gold
  • Krysty Wilson-Cairns – The Good Nurse


From all of us at Spotlight, a massive congratulations to all the winners and nominees! Take a look at our website for more awards news and industry advice.