What type of membership would you like to apply for?
Account access problem
You do not have permission to access this page with your current sign in details. If you require any further help, please get in touch at questions@spotlight.com.
The Industry

The Casting Directors’ Guild are delighted to announce the winners for the 2022 CDG Casting Awards, in partnership with Spotlight.

Hosted by the brilliant Jennifer Saunders, the intimate industry ceremony took place at Ham Yard Hotel in London on Tuesday 22nd February. Now in its fourth year, the CDG Casting awards seeks to reward and celebrate the incredible work achieved by casting teams across film, television, theatre and commercials.

This year’s presenters included names from across the industry including; Adjoa Andoh, Emily Barber, Nicola Coughlan, Jamie Demetriou, Sope Dirisu, Clint Dyer, Daisy Edgar-Jones, Ncuti Gatwa, Victoria Hamilton, Tommy Jessop, Adrian Lester, Ralf Little, Pixie Lott, Ambika Mod, James Norton, Jessica Plummer, Giles Terera and Marisha Wallace.

We’re delighted to be back in the room, celebrating the achievements of professional casting directors once more – congratulations to all the nominees and winners.
Matt Hood
Managing Director, Spotlight

Best Casting in a Limited or Single Series, sponsored by Netflix

  • WINNER: It’s a Sin – Andy Pryor, Ri McDaid-Wren (Associate), Ray Böhm (Assistant)
  • Des – Victor Jenkins, Seth Mason (Associate)
  • Small Axe – Gary Davy, Alex Howes (Associate), Jessica Straker (Assistant)
  • The Queen’s Gambit – Olivia Scott-Webb, Nicola Chisholm (Associate)

Best Casting in a Commercial, sponsored by New Wonder Management 

  • WINNER: NHS ‘Stay Home Now’ – Sasha Robertson Casting
  • Amazon ‘The Show Must Go On’ – Kharmel Cochrane
  • Cadbury Dairy Milk ‘Bus’ – Michael Cox, Thom Hammond
  • Sainsburys ‘The Gravy Song’ – Kharmel Cochrane

Best Casting in Theatre (inside M25), sponsored by The Partnership Group

  • WINNER: Constellations – Donmar Warehouse, Vaudeville Theatre  – Anna Cooper
  • Harm – The Bush Theatre – Annelie Powell
  • Romeo & Juliet – National Theatre – Alastair Coomer, Bryony Jarvis-Taylor
  • Romeo & Juliet – Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre – Stuart Burt, Annelie Powell

Best Casting in Musical Theatre (inside M25), in partnership with LW Theatres

  • WINNER: Back to the Future – Adelphi Theatre, David Grindrod
  • Carousel – Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre, Lucy Casson, James Orange and Jacob Sparrow, Verity Naughton (Children’s Casting Director)
  • Cinderella – Gillian Lynne Theatre, David Grindrod
  • Singin’ in the Rain – Sadler’s Wells, Stuart Burt, Richard Johnston and Jacob Sparrow

Best Casting in Regional Theatre (Outside of M25 includes straight Plays & Musicals), in partnership with Manchester International Festival

  • WINNER: Rent – Hope Mill Theatre, Manchester –  James Pearson and Rosie Pearson
  • Bedknobs and Broomsticks – Newcastle Theatre Royal – Jill Green, Nicholas Hockaday (Assistant), Jo Hawes (Children’s Casting Director)
  • South Pacific – Chichester Festival Theatre – Charlotte Sutton, Verity Naughton (Additional Children’s Casting)
  • The Comedy of Errors – Garden Theatre, Royal Shakespeare Company (and tour)  – Matthew Dewsbury

Best Casting in a TV Drama Series, sponsored by United Agents 

  • WINNER: Bridgerton –  Kelly Valentine Hendry, Cole Edwards (Associate)
  • Adult Material – Shaheen Baig
  • The Crown – Robert Sterne, Kate Bone (Associate)
  • Unforgotten – Victor Jenkins,  Seth Mason (Associate)

Best Casting in a TV Comedy Series, sponsored by Hamilton Hodell 

  • WINNER: We Are Lady Parts –  Aisha Bywaters
  • Alma’s Not Normal – Catherine Willis
  • Motherland (Series 3) – Sarah Crowe
  • Ted Lasso (Season 2) – Theo Park

Best Casting in an Independent Film (under £3 million) – includes Straight to TV, sponsored by Independent Talent 

  • WINNER: After Love – Shaheen Baig
  • County Lines – Aisha Bywaters, Ceri Bedingfield (Assistant)
  • Limbo – Dan Jackson
  • Rare Beasts – Shaheen Baig, Jonny Boutwood (Associate)

Best Casting in a Film (over £3 million) – includes Straight to TV , sponsored by Warner Media 

  • WINNER: The Mauritanian  –  Nina Gold
  • Cruella – Lucy Bevan, Emily Brockmann (Associate), Olivia Grant (Assistant)
  • Enola Holmes – Jina Jay, Olivia Brittain (Associate), Verity Naughton (Young Person Search)
  • The Dig – Lucy Bevan, Olivia Grant (Associate)

The winning and nominated productions premiered between the 1st September 2020 – 31st August 2021 and have been selected by members of the Casting Directors’ Guild.

Event Photograhy: Scarlet Page

Additional Imagery: Nick Stevens

With thanks to: Joe & Seph’s, Noble Isle, Homewood and Cartwright & Butler