The Spotlight Prize 2016 - Winners

Peter Losasso from LAMDA has been named Best Stage Actor at this year’s Spotlight Prize, with Bessie Carter from Guildhall School of Music and Drama being named Best Screen Actor. Peter and Bessie were two of 20 students nominated from the UK’s leading drama schools who competed at the Bloomsbury Ballroom on 19th July.

The winners and judges

Each year the Spotlight Showcase gives young actors the opportunity to perform in front of an audience of industry professionals, helping to establish their careers’ as professional performers.

For the first time this year, there was also a screen acting showcase, with a panel of industry judges choosing the best performance by an actor for stage and for screen. Bessie performed Anemone, and Peter’s stage monologue was The Age of Consent. The screen judges were Nancy Bishop, Carla Stronge, Andy Brierley, Rebecca Wright, John Cannon and Kahleen Crawford. The students were directed by award-winning director Shimmy Marcus, with a video of the screen performances shown on the night. You can view their performances at

The stage showcase this year was directed by Matthew Dunster, Associate Director at Shakespeare’s Globe. He is an award winning theatre director and writer. His recent production, Hangmen by Martin McDonagh, premiered at the Royal Court and Wyndham’s Theatre to universal critical acclaim in September 2015 and won many theatre awards, including two Olivier’s.

The judges of the stage showcase were actors Gemma Chan, Suranne Jones, Phil Davis, Iain Glen, Denise Gough, and casting directors Stuart Burt CDG, Julie Harkin CDG, Julia Horan CDG, and Daniel Edwards CDG.

Speaking after his success, Peter said, ‘I feel very lucky to have got the chance to perform tonight
and very grateful.’

Bessie added, ‘It feels fantastic. I’m very shocked but proud to have won.’

Last year’s winner, Rosalind Eleazar from LAMDA recently made her debut at the Royal Court

Bessie Carter is represented by ARG Talent Agency and Peter Losasso is represented by Curtis Brown.

Photo copyright: Jamie Drew.