What type of membership would you like to apply for?
Account access problem
You do not have permission to access this page with your current sign in details. If you require any further help, please get in touch at questions@spotlight.com.
The Industry
The winners and finalists of the Semiramis Award 2023

Image credit: Alejandro Barrios

We reveal the winner of the Semiramis Award for Excellence in Casting 2023, alongside the other finalists nominated by the ICDA

The Semiramis Award 2023 was presented at Focus on 6 December 2023. Sponsored by Spotlight, the International Casting Directors Association (ICDA) established the ICDA Award in 2016. Now in its seventh year, the award continues to recognise the best achievements in casting and how important casting directors are in the art of filmmaking. 

Known as the Semiramis Award since 2020, this year’s award was presented by UK producer Colin Vaines (Coriolanus, The Young Victoria). Past winners have included Kjersti Paulsen for The Innocents (2022) and Lucy Pardee for Rocks (2021). Take a look at the ICDA’s website for more information about previous winners and the history of the award

Without further ado, we’re delighted to reveal the winner and nominees for the Semiramis Award for Excellence in Casting 2023, who were chosen from 23 contestants by a select jury of ICDA members:


Im Western Nichts Neues (All Quiet on the Western Front) by Edward Berger

Simone Bär

Co-casting: Constance Demontoy (France), Arwa Salmanova (Czech Republic)

The award was presented to UK casting director Lucinda Syson (Wonder Woman, Batman Begins) on behalf of Simone Bär (Inglourious Basterds, The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Songbirds & Snakes), who sadly passed away earlier this year.

Lucinda Syson and award-winner Constance Demontoy with ICDA President Timka Grin / Image credit: Alejandro Barrios


Holy Spider by Ali Abbasi

Zar Amir Ebrahimi

Co-casting: Seyed Javad Hashemi, Hala Jarrah, Mohammad Kloob, Taha Moghani, Saeed Nasiri


Behind the Haystacks by Asimina Proedrou

Sofia Dimopoulou

Sotiria Marini

Akis Gourzoulidis

Frangiskos Xidianos


Cinema Sabaya by Orit Fouks Rotem

Emmanuelle Mayer


I Am Zlatan by Jens Sjögren

Lotta Forsblad

Frida von Koch Hasselvall

Co-casting: Stefan Gardovic


A huge congratulations to the winners and finalists from everyone here at Spotlight!

Take a look at our website for more awards and industry news.