What type of membership would you like to apply for?
Account access problem
You do not have permission to access this page with your current sign in details. If you require any further help, please get in touch at questions@spotlight.com.
The Industry

We’re excited to announce the winner and finalists for the latest ‘Into The Spotlight’ monologue competition!

After the amazing response we had to our last Into the Spotlight monologue competition, we couldn’t wait to see what our talented members would send in – and you didn’t disappoint! This time around, we shone the spotlight on musical theatre, and were once again blown away by the number and quality of the entries received.

Here at Spotlight, our team watched every monologue performance, and we just couldn’t narrow it down to 10. We agreed on a few more before sending them to our special guest panel – the team at Jill Green Casting – who narrowed them down to the final top 10 and chose a winner.

We’d like to thank the team at Jill Green Casting: Jill Green CDG, and casting assistants Olivia Laydon, Tom Shiels and Chenube-Ruth Bailey, for all their help selecting the finalists.

Without further ado, we are delighted to announce that the winner of our musical theatre ‘Into the Spotlight’ monologue competition is Emma Odell.

Watch Emma’s winning monologue performance:

The team at Jill Green Casting also picked Luci Fish as a highly commended entry, so we will be awarding her a free Spotlight membership for the year. Watch Luci’s highly commended monologue performance:

A massive congratulations to Emma and to our other fantastic finalists, whose entries can be watched below:

(Left to Right)

  1.  Agness Nyama
    Waiting For Life to Begin – Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty
    Watch Here
    Headshot: Helen Murray
  2.  Alistair Nwachukwu
    I Got A Woman – Ray Charles
    Watch Here
    Headshot: Dujonna Gift-Simms
  3.  Bill Murphy
    Gaston – Alan Menken and Howard Ashman
    Watch Here
    Headshot: Emma Burke Kennedy
  4.  Chloe Morley
    Your Daddy’s Son – Stephen Flaherty
    Watch Here
    Headshot: Dujonna Gift-Simms
  5.  Ellamae Cieslike
    In My Dreams – Stephen Flaherty and Lynn Ahrens
    Watch Here
    Headshot: Oli Spencer
  6.  Emma Odell (WINNER)
    Don’t Cry Out Loud – Peter Allen and Carole Bayer Sager
    Watch Here
    Headshot: Jennie Scott
  7.  Grace Whyte
    Back to Before – Terrance McNally, Stephen Flaherty and Lynn Ahrens
    Watch Here
    Headshot: Kim Hardy
  8.  Luci Fish (Highly Commended)
    The Age of Consent – Peter Morris
    Watch Here
    Headshot: YellowBellyPhoto
  9.  Michali Dantes
    First You Want Me to Believe – Michali Dantes
    Watch Here
    Headshot: Michael Carlo
  10.  Obadiah
    Lungs – Duncan Macmillan
    Watch Here
    Headshot: Michael Carlo

From all of us at Spotlight, we’d like to say a huge congratulations to our winner and finalists, and a massive thank you to everyone who entered!

When will the next competition launch?

We’ll be bringing ‘Into the Spotlight’ back during summer 2023 with a different theme and judging panel, so keep your eyes on the News and Advice section.

Image credit: Jamie Drew