What type of membership would you like to apply for?
Account access problem
You do not have permission to access this page with your current sign in details. If you require any further help, please get in touch at questions@spotlight.com.
The Industry
CDG Casting Award trophies displayed on a table

Image credit: Nick Stevens

The casting directors of ‘Slow Horses’, ‘My Neighbour Totoro’, ‘Saltburn’ and ‘Barbie’ among this year’s CDG Casting Award nominees.

The Casting Directors’ Guild have now announced the nominees for the 2024 CDG Casting Awards. The awards, held in partnership with Spotlight and with EON Productions as the headline sponsor, seek to reward and celebrate the incredible work achieved by casting teams across film, television, theatre and commercials. 

The winners will be announced at a ceremony held on 21 February 2024, with a welcome reception generously sponsored by Warner Bros. Discovery. The CDG will be joined by a special guest host and an array of performers, presenting each award.

We’re delighted to reveal that the nominees for the sixth CDG Casting Awards 2024 are:

Best Child Casting (All Media)

  • Children With Cancer ‘Milestone Campaign’ (Commercial) – Nicholas Hockaday
  • Mrs Doubtfire, Shaftesbury Theatre (London Casting, Musical Theatre) – Verity Naughton (Children’s Casting Director)
  • Roald Dahl’s Matilda the Musical (Film) – Lucy Bevan and Emily Brockmann, Katie Brydon (Associate), Amy Beadel (Ensemble Casting Associate), Melody Gerard (Assistant)
  • The Sound of Music, Chichester Festival Theatre (Regional Theatre) – Verity Naughton (Children’s Casting), Nicholas Hockaday (Children’s Casting Assistant)
  • The Witches, Olivier Theatre, National Theatre (Theatre) – Bryony Jarvis-Taylor

Best Casting in a Commercial

  • Age UK ‘Know What To Do’ Leanne Flinn
  • Stonewall ‘Ban Conversion Therapy’ – Sue Odell
  • Children With Cancer ‘Milestone Campaign’ – Nicholas Hockaday
  • Alzheimer’s Society ‘Nobody Asks’Aisha Bywaters
  • Vanish ‘Me, My Autism & I’ – Kharmel Cochrane

Best Casting in a Film (sponsored by Apple TV+)

  • All of Us StrangersKahleen Crawford, Carla Morris and Eliza Heslop (Associates)
  • The Banshees of InisherinLouise Kiely
  • Barbie – Lucy Bevan, Olivia Grant (Associate), Lucy Downes (Assistant) 
  • Saltburn – Kharmel Cochrane
  • Triangle of Sadness – Jessie Frost (UK Casting)

Best Casting in an Independent Film (sponsored by Independent Talent)

  • Blue JeanShaheen Baig
  • Dance FirstOlivia Scott-Webb, Ruth O’Dowd (Associate)
  • Rye Lane – Kharmel Cochrane
  • Scrapper – Shaheen Baig
  • The Boy, The Mole, The Fox and The Horse – Rachel Freck, Jessica Mescall and Nicholas Hockaday (Associates)

Best Casting in a Limited or Single Series (sponsored by Apple TV+)

  • A Small LightNanw Rowlands
  • Black Mirror (Season 6)Jina Jay
  • Somewhere BoyCatherine Willis, Beatrice Ray (Associate)
  • The Long ShadowVictor Jenkins and Sonia Allam, Seth Mason (Associate), Paushali Banik (Assistant)
  • Time (Season 2)Amy Hubbard, Shannon Dowling-McNulty (Associate)

Best Casting in Musical Theatre (Inside M25) (sponsored by JAG (Jonathan Arun Group))

  • Guys and Dolls, Bridge Theatre – Charlotte Sutton
  • Sunset Boulevard, Savoy Theatre – Stuart Burt
  • Tammy Faye, Almeida Theatre – Natalie Gallacher and Pippa Ailion, Richard Johnston (Associate)
  • The Band’s Visit, Donmar Warehouse – Anna Cooper
  • The Witches, Olivier Theatre, National Theatre – Bryony Jarvis-Taylor

Best Casting in Regional Theatre (sponsored by Conway Van Gelder Grant)

  • A Christmas Carol, Royal Shakespeare Theatre, RSC – Matthew Dewsbury
  • A View From The Bridge, Bolton Octagon and Chichester Festival Theatre – Becky Paris
  • Choir Boy, Bristol Old Vic – Julia Horan
  • Cowbois, The Swan Theatre, RSC – Martin Poile
  • Standing at The Sky’s Edge, The Crucible Theatre, Sheffield – Stuart Burt

Best Casting in Theatre (Inside M25) (sponsored by The Partnership Group)

  • A Little Life, Richmond Theatre and Harold Pinter Theatre  – Julia Horan, Lilly Mackie (Assistant) 
  • A Streetcar Named Desire, Almeida Theatre and The Phoenix Theatre – Julia Horan, Lilly Mackie (Assistant)
  • Dear England, Olivier Theatre, National Theatre and The Prince Edward Theatre  – Bryony Jarvis Taylor
  • My Neighbor Totoro, Barbican Theatre – Hannah Miller, Martin Poile (Associate)
  • The Motive and The Cue, Lyttelton Theatre, National Theatre and the Noel Coward Theatre  – Alastair Coomer

Best Casting in a TV Comedy Series (sponsored by Hamilton Hodell)

  • Dreaming Whilst Black – Heather Basten, Peter Noden and Fran Cattaneo (Assistants)
  • Extraordinary – Suzanne Crowley and Gilly Poole, Katie Mozumder (Associate)
  • Motherland Christmas Special – Sarah Crowe, Ben Marks (Associate)
  • Sex Education (Season 4) – Lauren Evans
  • Ted Lasso (Season 3) – Theo Park, Laura MacFadden (Associate)

Best Casting in a TV Drama Series (sponsored by United Agents)

  • AndorNina Gold and Martin Ware
  • Boiling Point – Shaheen Baig and Jonny Boutwood, Carolyn McLeod (Original Film Casting)
  • Slow Horses (Season 2) – Nina Gold, Melissa Gethin Clarke (Associate)
  • Slow Horses (Season 3) – Nina Gold, Melissa Gethin Clarke (Associate)
  • The Crown (Season 5) – Robert Sterne, Kate Bone (Associate)

The nominated productions premiered between 1 September 2022 and 31 December 2023, and have been selected by members of the Casting Directors’ Guild.

A massive congratulations to all the productions and casting directors who were nominated! 

Take a look at our website for more awards news and industry advice.