What type of membership would you like to apply for?
Account access problem
You do not have permission to access this page with your current sign in details. If you require any further help, please get in touch at questions@spotlight.com.
The Industry
Emma Stone dancing in the middle of a room in 'Poor Things'

Image credit: Searchlight Pictures / Still From Poor Things

Christopher Nolan’s ‘Oppenheimer leads the pack with seven wins at the 96th annual Academy Awards, including Best Picture.

The winners of the Oscars 2024 have now been announced at a spectacular ceremony in Los Angeles at the Dolby Theatre.

Jimmy Kimmel was invited back for the 4th time to present the Academy Awards and opened the show with the usual comedic monologue introducing the audience to some of the stars nominated at this year’s awards. Kimmel was joined on stage by a variety of familiar faces, including reunions from Twins (1988) stars Danny DeVito and Arnold Schwartzeneger, and Beetlejuice (1988) stars Michael Keaton and Catherine O’Hara, to present awards throughout the night. 

For the performance categories, the nominees were presented by previous winners from years gone by, including last year’s winners Brendan Fraser, who presented Best Actor to Spotlight member Cillian Murphy, and Michelle Yeoh, who presented Best Actress to Emma Stone.

The atomic bomb biopic Oppenheimer led the winners with seven wins, including Best Picture and Best Director, whilst Yorgos Lanthimos’ steampunk fantasy Poor Things walked away with four wins, including Best Lead Actress.

The night was packed with entertaining moments, including wrestler and actor John Cena coming on stage to present the Best Costume award – wearing no clothes whatsoever! Screen acting legend Al Pacino presented the Best Picture award to celebrate 50 years since the iconic The Godfather Part II was released. 

Stars of the upcoming summer blockbuster The Fall Guy, Emily Blunt and Ryan Gosling, introduced a special presentation commemorating the stunt workers and stunt coordinators in the film industry. Opera megastar Andrea Bocelli performed ‘Time To Say Goodbye’ for the moving In Memoriam segment.

As well as all of this, all five of the Best Original Song nominees performed their nominated songs, including Barbie’s ‘I’m Just Ken’, performed by Ryan Gosling, who was joined on stage by a team of over 60 Ken backing dancers, and ‘Slash’ from Guns ‘n’ Roses.

It was an exciting night full of laughs, surprises and a lot of happy tears. See below for the full list of winners:

Best Picture

  • Oppenheimer (WINNER)
  • American Fiction
  • Anatomy of a Fall
  • Barbie
  • The Holdovers
  • Killers of the Flower Moon
  • Maestro
  • Past Lives
  • Poor Things
  • The Zone of Interest


  • Christopher Nolan – Oppenheimer (WINNER)
  • Justine Triet – Anatomy of a Fall
  • Martin Scorsese – Killers of the Flower Moon
  • Yorgos Lanthimos – Poor Things
  • Jonathan Glazer – The Zone of Interest

Actress in a Leading Role

  • Emma Stone – Poor Things (WINNER)
  • Annette Benning – Nyad
  • Lily Gladstone – Killers of the Flower Moon
  • Sandra Huller – Anatomy of a Fall
  • Carey Mulligan – Maestro

Actor in a Leading Role

  • Cillian Murphy – Oppenheimer (WINNER)
  • Bradley Cooper – Maestro
  • Colman Domingo – Rustin
  • Paul Giamatti – The Holdovers
  • Jeffrey Wright – American Fiction

Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Da’vine Joy Randolph – The Holdovers (WINNER)
  • Emily Blunt – Oppenheimer
  • Danielle Brooks – The Color Purple
  • America Ferrera – Barbie
  • Jodie Foster – Nyad

Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Robert Downey Jr. – Oppenheimer (WINNER)
  • Sterling K. Brown – American Fiction
  • Robert De Niro – Killers of the Flower Moon
  • Ryan Gosling – Barbie
  • Mark Ruffalo – Poor Things

Writing (Adapted Screenplay)

  • American Fiction – Cord Jefferson (WINNER)
  • Barbie – Greta Gerwig, Noah Baumbach
  • Oppenheimer – Christopher Nolan
  • Poor Things – Tony McNamara
  • The Zone of Interest – Jonathan Glazer

Writing (Original Screenplay)

  • Anatomy of a Fall – Justine Triet, Arthur Harari (WINNER)
  • The Holdovers – David Hemingson
  • Maestro – Bradley Cooper, Josh Singer
  • May December – Samy Burch, Alex Mechanik
  • Past Lives – Celine Song


  • Oppenheimer (WINNER)
  • El Conde
  • Killers of the Flower Moon
  • Maestro
  • Poor Things

Film Editing

  • Oppenheimer (WINNER)
  • Anatomy of a Fall
  • The Holdovers
  • Killers of the Flower Moon
  • Poor Things

Animated Feature Film

  • The Boy and the Heron (WINNER)
  • Elemental
  • Nimona
  • Robot Dreams
  • Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse

International Feature Film

  • The Zone of Interest (WINNER)
  • Io Capitano
  • Perfect Days
  • Society of the Snow
  • The Teacher’s Lounge

Costume Design

  • Poor Things (WINNER)
  • Barbie
  • Killers of the Flower Moon
  • Napoleon
  • Oppenheimer

Makeup and Hairstyling

  • Poor Things (WINNER)
  • Golda
  • Maestro
  • Oppenheimer
  • Society of the Snow


  • The Zone of Interest (WINNER)
  • The Creator
  • Maestro
  • Mission Impossible: Dead Reckoning pt. 1
  • Oppenheimer

Music (Original Song)

  • What Was I Made For? – Barbie (WINNER)
  • The Fire Inside – Flamin’ Hot
  • I’m Just Ken – Barbie
  • It Never Went Away – American Symphony
  • Wahzhazhe – Killers of the Flower Moon

Music (Original Score)

  • Oppenheimer (WINNER)
  • American Fiction 
  • Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny
  • Killers of the Flower Moon
  • Poor Things

Production Design

  • Poor Things (WINNER)
  • Barbie
  • Killers of the Flower Moon
  • Napoleon
  • Oppenheimer

Visual Effects

  • Godzilla Minus One (WINNER)
  • The Creator
  • Guardians of the Galaxy vol. 3
  • Mission Impossible: Dead Reckoning pt. 1
  • Napoleon

Documentary Feature Film

  • 20 Days in Mariupol (WINNER)
  • Bobi Wine: The People’s President
  • The Eternal Memory
  • Four Daughters
  • To Kill a Tiger

Documentary Short Film

  • The Last Repair Shop (WINNER)
  • The ABC’s of Book Banning
  • The Barber of Little Rock
  • Island In Between
  • Nai Nai and Wài Pó

Short Film (Animated)

  • War is Over! Inspired by the Music of John and Yoko (WINNER)
  • Letter to a Pig
  • Ninety-Five Senses
  • Our Uniform
  • Pachyderme

Short Film (Live Action)

  • The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar (WINNER)
  • The After
  • Invincible 
  • Night of Fortune
  • Red, White and Blue

From all of us at Spotlight, a massive congratulations to all the winners! You can see the highlights of the night on ITVx now.

Take a look at our website for more awards news and industry advice.